Tags

, ,

 

Don't know who to credit for this photo. But if I could I would.

Most of these “Leadership Proverbs” I’ve just picked up, absorbed and imbibed by some process of osmosis along the way and don’t know exactly whom they originated from. But when I know I’ll make reference, and when I don’t it’s not that I’m ungrateful or that I want to appear like a genius. It’s genuinely that I can’t remember. So if I’ve flogged something from you let me know and I’ll happily acknowledge it.

 

Programs Are Temporary

Your programs exist to help you achieve your aims. Your Biblical aims and Biblical strategies don’t change – unless they’re refined to get closer to what God says in his Word. But broadly they don’t change because God doesn’t change and God’s Word doesn’t change and God’s methods don’t change. God is still in the business of making disciples of all nations through the work of His Spirit coming alongside the loving proclamation of His Word, the gospel of the Lord Jesus, by His disciples as they seek to live faithfully obedient lives for His glory. That doesn’t change and is always relevant. And the programs exist to help you achieve those Biblical and unchanging aims.

As culture shifts, moods change, demographics evolve and technology develops, the programs will need to be assessed and potentially changed to best engage and serve those you’re trying to reach. The message and the goals and the basic methods won’t change. But the program and packaging will.

It is tempting to get attached to programs and systems. If you had a hand in developing them they feel like loved children that you had a hand in bringing to birth. If they have been successful and blessed by God with growth you may tempted to tie the success to the program and so be reluctant to change it.

But programs are temporary.

They only exist to help you achieve your aims. And once they stop being effective in achieving those aims they need to be re-assessed and either tweaked, transformed or terminated.

Biblical aims stay the same and biblical methods stay the same. But programs are always temporary.

