Tags

, , , , ,

(c) Javier Burgos

(c) Javier Burgos

Every year, usually in early January, I put aside a week to read. Not to read fiction books. And not to read for fun. But to read for work.

Years ago I heard – or read, I can’t remember – a quote from John Stott, and the gist of it was that for anyone in a full-time bible teaching role, where you are constantly giving out, putting in was vitally important. If it’s all going out then eventually, maybe not immediately but eventually, you’ll become boring. There’ll be nothing left. His advice was that for a full time bible teacher they need to read, at minimum, for an hour a day, a day a month and a week a year.

Minimum.

So I saw the wisdom in that and so have aimed to do that every year since. This will be the fifth year in a row that I have entered into reading week. It’s one of my top priorities each year.

These are the books I’m planning to read this week:

Retrieving Doctrine – Oliver D. Crisp
Radical – David Platt
Sydney Anglicanism – Michael P. Jensen
Deep & Wide – Andy Stanley
Note to Self – Joe Thorn
Joy in Your Life – Charles H. Spurgeon
T4T: A Discipleship Re-Revolution – Steve Smith w/ Ying Kai
Hearing Her Voice – John Dickson

I find these reading weeks exhausting. It’s fun and fine for the first hour or so. But after that I get restless and a bit bored. Reading 9 till 5 for 6 days straight is harder than it sounds.

But it’s one of the most important elements in my yearly rhythm.

I’ll let you know how it goes and how many of my planned books I actually get through!

